Home » Book Review » The Luck of the Bodkins // by P.G. Wodehouse

The Luck of the Bodkins // by P.G. Wodehouse

3167887._UY200_

//published 1935//

It is possible that my favorite part of any Wodehouse book is the first sentence.  I love the way that Wodehouse’s genius comes through from that very first moment, already completely hooking me and drawing me into his next romp.

Into the face of the young man who sat on the terrace of the Hotel Magnifique at Cannes there had crept a look of furtive shame, the shifty, hangdog look which announces that an Englishman is about to talk French.

I have blathered on a length about my love for Wodehouse in earlier posts.  He’s brilliant, and everyone should read his works, no matter what your usual fare is.  While The Luck of the Bodkins wasn’t my favorite Wodehouse (honestly, Albert Peasemarch was driving me crazy), it was still great fun, and an easy 4/5.

5 thoughts on “The Luck of the Bodkins // by P.G. Wodehouse

    • So sorry for the delayed response! I haven’t been blogging at all in November! It’s hard to choose a favorite Wodehouse, but I greatly enjoy ‘Psmith, Journalist’ as well as the Blandings Castle books. Also, have you ever read ‘Jeeves and the Wedding Bells’ by Sebastian Faulks? Even though I do not, as a general rule, like it when other authors write about someone else’s characters, I genuinely thought Faulks did a lovely job putting a bit of a wrap-up on the Jeeves and Wooster books, and found it to be very pleasant read, although not, of course, like reading actual Wodehouse!

      Liked by 1 person

      • No, I have not gathered the courage to pick it up as yet, because of the same reason. There is so much original stuff to wade through that one feels that time is too short, in any case!

        Like

  1. Pingback: Rearview Mirror: October 2015 | The Aroma of Books

  2. Pingback: Rearview Mirror: 2015 | The Aroma of Books

Leave a Reply

