Home » Rearview Mirror » Rearview Mirror: January 2015

Rearview Mirror: January 2015

So, inspired by Sophie’s PaperPuffs and Stephanie’s new monthly recap, I thought, what the hey?  I’ll try to post a little monthly review myself.

This month was super busy.  Besides reading a lot more books than I actually reviewed, we also did a huge remodeling project on the kitchen.  I’m also trying to be a good girl by dieting and exercising every day (which is going better than hoped).  I’m also trying to keep up on both book and house blogging.  The book reviews are so much more fun if I write them close to when I actually read the book, and the house blog is way more interesting if the posts are close enough together that I can actually go into some detail about what’s been happening.

This month, I only reviewed five books:

However, I did read four more books, so you can expect reviews for these coming soon:

  • The Far-off Land by Rebecca Caudill
  • Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund
  • The Mirror Crack’d from Side to Side by Agatha Christie
  • Old Mother West Wind by Thornton W. Burgess

Tragically, loads more books got added to the TBR. I’ve given up on any kind of restraint, and am just letting the list develop as it will.  It’s not unusual for me to add a book, get it from the library, and then decide that it’s not for me, so I like to keep the field pretty wide.  This month, among others, I added:

  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – thanks to Lady Fancifull’s review (which was in December but I didn’t read the review until January so!)
  • The Golden Gate by Alistair MacLean
  • Curse of the Thirteenth Fey by Jane Yolen – thanks to a review on Tales of the Marvelous (another December review I didn’t read until January!)
  • The Great Zoo of China by Matthew Reilly – thanks to Stephanie’s book review
  • Black Water Rising by Attica Locke
  • Lottie and Lisa by Erich Kastner – pretty sure I’m not going to be able to find a copy of this book, but it was the inspiration behind Disney’s The Parent Trap, and lately I’ve been on a kick of reading the books behind the movies
  • The Fox in the Hound by Daniel Mannix and The Apple Dumpling Gang by Jack Bickham – in the spirit of finding books behind movies
  • And if that wasn’t enough, I added the entire Arthurian series by T.H. White and, thanks to Lady Fancifull’s review, L.C. Tyler’s Elsie & Ethelred cozy mystery series

Of course, those are probably all months away from being read.

So, there is your little review/preview.  I may even get around to reviewing The Far-off Land today.

Until next time, keep the happy reviews coming.  I love reading everyone’s reviews, even of books I would never imagine reading.  It’s so amazing how everyone can read the same book yet read a different story, and I love it.

Happy February!!

One thought on “Rearview Mirror: January 2015

  1. Wahh, you had so much going on last month! The kitchen renovation looks like it’s going great though. :) And YES to healthy living goals! I personally always burn out sooner or later with exercising and book blogging, but I inevitably set the same goals again every month, haha. Totally agree that book reviews are more fun if you write them ASAP, but again, those blogging goals urghhh. Looking forward to your reviews/updates this month!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

