Home » Text Post » (not actually a book review but one of my favorite poems I’ve ever written so there’s that)

(not actually a book review but one of my favorite poems I’ve ever written so there’s that)

There comes a point in every winter
when all I can think about are
open windows and the hum of the ceiling fan,
crickets and spring peepers,
the cooling air on
the first evening
that the fireflies dance
in the ever-lengthening dusk
as the sun lingers behind the trees.
Bare feet and the smell of
rain on the hot pavement
seem so far away as I sit,
wrapped in so many layers,
sweaters and socks,
sipping hot chocolate,
looking at the frosty and barren yard,
and dreaming of June.

5 thoughts on “(not actually a book review but one of my favorite poems I’ve ever written so there’s that)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Paper (21) | Paper Breathers

  2. Very impressed! I didn’t know you write poetry. Unfortunately your winter sounds very much like our summer…I can’t really remember what sunshine looks like! However, fortunately I enjoy hot chocolate… ;)

    Like

    • Oh, thank you! I don’t write poetry very often. Sometimes, though, it’s like it just hatches out! That particular poem I wrote last winter, and I literally got up out of my warm, comfy, cozy bed to write it because it was just drumming around inside my brain INSISTING that I get it down on paper!

      The ironic part is that I actually quite enjoy winter – just the happy coziness of it, all tucked in. Although let’s be honest, I just love weather. It’s a rare day that I don’t find some way to be super happy about the weather – either being out in it or being grateful to be out of it!

      Like

  3. I realized that I never commented on your poem! When I read this, I feel a fall-to-winter transition (probably from “… the cooling air on / the first evening…”) and your poem is really relatable (IT’S SPREADINGGG) because I love seasonal transitions the most; the changing of colors and the cooling from fall to winter is definitely one of my favorite transitions.

    I absolutely dread rainy days, but I agree that it’s nice being inside during one – so I guess I’m happy about all weather too? :P

    Like

    • haha weather is just happy. I love living in Ohio where it’s super changeable and unpredictable – it was 55* and sunny yesterday, and 25* and windy this morning, so there’s always something!!! :-D

      Like

Leave a Reply

