Home » Text Post »

So I’ve read three more P.G. Wodehouse books late, and rather than telling you how amazing they are (because they ARE), I’m just going to post up some quotes.  :-D  (Please note that I am “block quoting” every-other one so you can tell where one ends and new one begins, because I am positive that you will read them ALL.)

As an aside, it is SO MUCH FUN to read the Jeeves/Wooster books in order.  I had no idea how much they built on each other, but all the characters who revolve through his pages make a lot more sense reading the books in chronological order.  Even though each is perfectly readable as a stand-alone (that’s how I have always read them before!), the pleasure and humor is greatly added to by reading them in order.  Guys, these books are SO FUNNY.  The quotes below, while they make you smile, won’t make you laugh out loud as reading them in their proper context will.  I promise.  As the quote on the front cover on one edition assures you:  “It’s impossible to be unhappy while reading the adventures of Jeeves and Wooster.”  And that, my friends, is the truth.

I’ve seen him a couple of times in the [Rugby] arena and was profoundly impressed by his virtuosity.  Rugby football is more or less a sealed book to me, I never having gone in for it, but even I could see that he was good …  Like the Canadian Mounted Police, he always got his man, and when he did so the air was vibrant with the excited cries of morticians in the audience making bids for the body.  [1]

And so it came about that some five minutes later I stood once more outside the Blue Room with Bobbie beside me …  Knowing that Bobbie would be on sentry-go made all the difference.  Any gangster will tell you that the strain and anxiety of busting a safe are greatly diminished if you’ve a lookout man ready at any moment to say “Cheese it, the cops!”  [2]

“Do you recall telling me once about someone who told somebody he could tell him something which would make him think a bit?  Knitted socks and porcupines entered into it, I remember.”

“I think you may be referring to the ghost of the father of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, sir.  Addressing his son, he said, ‘I could a tale unfold whose lightest word would harrow up thy soul, freeze thy young blood, make thy two eyes, like stars, start from their spheres, thy knotted and combined locks to part and each particular hair to stand on end like quills upon the fretful porpentine.”

“That’s right.  Locks, of course, not socks.  Odd that he should have said porpentine when he meant porcupine.  Slip of the tongue, no doubt, as so often happens with ghosts.”  [2]

“I’ve seldom had a sharper attack of euphoria.  …  Mind you, I don’t know how long it will last.  Too often it is when one feels fizziest that the storm clouds begin doing their stuff.”

“Very true, sir.  Full many a glorious morning have I seen flatter the mountain tops with sovereign eye, kissing with golden face the meadows green, gilding pale streams with heavenly alchemy, Anon permit the basest clouds to ride with ugly rack on his celestial face and from the forlorn world his visage hide, stealing unseen to west with this disgrace.”

“Exactly,”  I said.  I couldn’t have put it better myself.  “One always has to budget for a change in the weather.”  [3]

“She’s like one of those princesses in the fairy tales who set fellows some task to perform, as it might be scaling a mountain of glass or bringing  her a hair from the beard of the Great Cham of Tartary, and gave them the brush-off when they couldn’t make the grade.”

I recalled the princesses of whom he spoke, and I had always thought them rather fatheads.  I mean to say, what sort of foundation for a happy marriage is the bridegroom’s ability to scale mountains of glass?  A fellow probably wouldn’t be called on to do it more than about once every ten years, if that.  [3]

It was one of those heavy, sultry afternoons when Nature seems to be saying to itself, “Now shall I or shall I not scare the pants off these people with a hell of a thunderstorm?”  [3]

 

[1] Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves, 1962

[2]  How Right You Are, Jeeves, 1960

[3]  Much Obliged, Jeeves, 1971

Leave a Reply

