Home » Book Review » Gone-Away Lake and Return to Gone-Away

Gone-Away Lake and Return to Gone-Away

007004

 

by Elizabeth Enright

Published 1957, 1961

As you may be able to tell from the battered cover of my copy of Gone-Away, I love these books.  Elizabeth Enright writes happy. lighthearted stories.  While not long on plot, they are still fun to read.  The children in her stories manage to have adventures using mostly the great outdoors and their imagination.

I have to say that, as a child (and maybe even now) one of my favorite daydreams was that my family would end up buying an old, rambling house – one with a tower and an attic full of history.  So it is with a hint of jealousy that I read these stories.  Porita and her cousin discover not just an abandoned house, but an entire (almost) abandoned village!

These are simply, happy books that I would highly recommend, especially as read-alouds for children.  5/5

Leave a Reply

