Home » Text Post » A random personal post that you can feel free to skip although it does explain some of the methods to my madness in what order books are reviewed

A random personal post that you can feel free to skip although it does explain some of the methods to my madness in what order books are reviewed

If any of you are actually reading these posts, you may wonder why they are somewhat out of order–if I’m reading a series, I don’t post Book 1, Book 2, Book 3–I post Book 1, some other random book, something by Agatha Christie, Book 1 of something else, and then Book 2.

The problem is, I have an addiction.  Literally.   I am addicted to reading.  As in, if you told me I had to go the next 24 hours and could either have nothing to eat or drink, or nothing to read, I would think long and hard about the decision.  I read a lot.  So, to help keep myself from just reading nothing but mindless fluff, I have some systems.

First off, I have a pile of non-fiction reading.  I am usually reading 6-10 non-fiction books at a time, and I mostly read them through the week.  I am slowly working my way through twentieth century history (I’m in WWII right now) so that’s why non-fiction books pop up at random points in time.

The weekends, though, are my time for fun reading.  I always have a stack of books from the library.  I’m trying to actually read every book I own (and there are about a thousand of them, so it’s taking some doing).  I have several series of books to read.  I want to read everything Agatha Christie wrote; ditto for P.G. Wodehouse.  So, in order to accomplish these goals, I rotate:

  • library book
  • mystery series
  • series
  • personal book
  • another series

Of course, sometimes I’m waiting for the next book in a series to come from the library or I’m going to be gone somewhere so I just take whichever one is most convenient to have along, but that’s roughly the schedule, and that’s why the books show up rather haphazardly.  As long as I don’t read  books that are super similar at the same time, it works out great (that’s why I usually only read one mystery series at a time).

So yes.  There you have it.  Sarah’s crazy book-reading method.  I actually have one.  :-D

Leave a Reply

